Welcome to the Map of Roman Britain

Discover thousands of points of interest, from cities to farmsteads and temples to aqueducts.

View the map


43 CE
The Roman conquest of Britain begins. Emperor Claudius (10 BCE–54 CE) orders the invasion of the British Isles, sending forces commanded by Aulus Plautius (15 BCE–57 CE). The province of Britannia is established.
c. 214
Britannia is divided into two provinces—Britannia Superior and Britannia Inferior.
Emperor Diocletian (245–316 CE) renames the entire area the Diocese of Britannia and further divides each province in two, thus forming four provinces—Britannia Prima, Maxima Caesariensis, Britannia Secunda, and Flavia Caesariensis.
Emperor Honorius (384–423 CE) refuses to aid the civitates of Britain, thereby implicitly ending Roman rule.

Read the full chronology

Historical representations

Explore notable historical maps of Roman Britain, stretching back to 1265.

Tabula Peutingeriana (1265) Britannicarum Insularum Typus (1595)

View all representations